Backyardsafari's Blog

Environmental Inspiration in Your Own Backyard

Fun Fall Colors October 26, 2010

I have a lot of big blog post plans coming up that I hope to share with you soon, but in the meantime I wanted to take a moment to share some of the wonderful fall colors I have been seeing near my backyard.

Lately it seems like everywhere I go I am struck by the unbelievable colors swirling around me–vivid reds, greens fading into yellows, bright oranges, and sometimes all at once! Anytime I go for a drive I just want to pull over and take pictures of what I see to share with you. I am drinking it all in, and decided that at least a stop at a local farmer’s pumpkin stand was begging to be documented! So here, for your fall viewing enjoyment, are just a few of the colors and textures I saw there. I hope you will all take a few moments to see the changes going on around you and appreciate the beauty in the natural world!

.

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

.

I admit to not always loving the cold in the winter or a soaking rain, but I also know that there are beautiful things to find in those places if I look for them. Writing this blog has really helped me slow down and take notice, and I am interested to see what my attention will focus on this winter.

Sometimes people feel silly saying out loud that something is beautiful, or for wanting to kick leaves around, or splash in a puddle. These are considered “kid things,” and once you become an adult you are supposed to be serious, keep your head down, and just get through the day. One of the biggest things I hope to accomplish with this blog is to give everyone permission to shrug off these rules and follow where their interests lead. Think that bug looks funny? Linger just a moment longer to see what it does! Feel the urge to have the wind in your hair? Stand outside after checking the mail and let the leaves swirl by. Think the colors around you are brilliant and beautiful? Take pictures of them even if people look at you funny and make a slide show to share!

There is so much to see and do–as always, I’ll see you out there!

 

3 Responses to “Fun Fall Colors”

  1. Jo liversidge Says:

    I did the same with our harvest photos – the compute of the fruit and veg we harvested from the school grounds was amazing! I think we all need to be ‘kids’ once in a while and stand still, mouths open, staring at the wonder of nature. Thanks for the reminder :0)

    • Thanks for the comment Jo! What a great idea to take pictures of your school harvest! I will have to remember that if I can ever get our school garden off the ground.
      Always happy to remind, sometimes I need a reminder myself 🙂

  2. Debi Says:

    I admit that having kids has given me the freedom to be silly & play much more so than I did before. But I don’t think I’ll be giving it up anytime soon. Lovely post! BTW, I’m also working to get our school garden off the ground. We should share ideas …


Leave a Reply

