Backyardsafari's Blog

Environmental Inspiration in Your Own Backyard

Backyard Transition Challenge September 21, 2010

This is just a quick update about our ongoing Backyard Transition Challenge. I was calling it our “Tree Transition Challenge,” but I want to make it clear that it doesn’t just have to be a tree to be included! This challenge is just about taking notice of all of the things changing around us, and learning more about the way they do it.

The Backyard Transition Challenge started in August when I realized that I have never been sure if autumn leaves change color on an individual tree gradually or all at once. Every year it seems like one minute they are green and the next thing I know everything has changed! So this year I decided to take a picture of the same tree every few days and document the changes as they happened, and invited all Backyard Safari readers to do the same!

It is not too late to join us, and you can document anything in your backyard! It could be a plant in your garden that is growing or ripening, the stars as they move across the night sky, a creek bed turning from dry dust to flowing water, the angle of the light, or the seasons changing. It all depends on where you live and what you see every day!

In order to join the Backyard Transition Challenge all you have to do is take pictures of something as frequently or infrequently as you see fit (although the more frequently the better you can document the change!), and send them in to askbackyardsafari@gmail.com once you feel you have documented enough. Later, I will post them on this blog (with credit, of course!) so we can learn about these different transitions together.

Personally, I am taking pictures of a certain tree I see every day to see the changes it goes through from summer into winter. After the leaves have all fallen off my tree–because in the way of these things I now do think of it as “mine”–I will put all of the photos together into a time-lapse movie.

For now, here is a sneak preview of the changes my tree has made from August 2nd to September 20th:

.August 2nd

.September 20th

.

It has been great fun taking notice of the way things are changing and I have learned so much already! I really hope you join us. As always, I’ll see you out there!

 

2 Responses to “Backyard Transition Challenge”

  1. […] am so happy to introduce the first reader submission to our Backyard Transition Challenge!  Our submission today comes from Donna Watkins of The Nature In Us. About a week ago I noticed […]

  2. […] tree I studied for my submission to the Backyard Transition Challenge is now empty of leaves, and I have compiled all of the pictures together into a short video showing […]


Leave a Reply

