Backyardsafari's Blog

Environmental Inspiration in Your Own Backyard

Enter into Nature May 23, 2010

Filed under: Uncategorized — backyardsafari @ 8:58 pm
Tags: , , , , ,

My days have been very busy these past few weeks–almost every day I have been taking different classes of children outside to learn about the natural world around them. Most days have a theme, like soil, weather, or ecosystems, in order to assure the activities we do matches what the students are learning with their curriculum. It has been such a wonderful time and I am planning on writing more about it soon. This past Friday I spent the entire day standing in a creek, showing kids the caddisfly larvae and crayfish living under the rocks–what more could I ask for??

In the mean time, though, I wanted to share some more photos of archways in the woods, like I talked about in the “Doorways to Nature” post.

I found these on a recent walk exploring an area I will be taking some students later this week. I’ve noticed that the arches I see now are much bigger than those I did as a child. This makes sense of course–as I mentioned before I can’t always fit through them the way I used to!  But even though most of the arches in this post are large enough to walk through, I still contend that the very best ones are the wild ones, made of a tangle of brambles, that you have to crawl through in order to discover what is on the other side!

These will have to do for now, though, and I hope they inspire you to keep searching your local habitat for those things hiding just under the surface.

.

.

.

.

This last one is a little more like it! Doesn’t it look tempting?

Have a great week everyone! As always, please send any interesting things you find throughout your days to askbackyardsafari@gmail.com.  Maybe there are some interesting doorways in your life just waiting for you to walk through them?

 

One Response to “Enter into Nature”

  1. julia Says:

    This series is so amazing! I can’t wait to look for some…


Leave a Reply

