Backyardsafari's Blog

Environmental Inspiration in Your Own Backyard

Backyard Wildlife April 4, 2010

Filed under: Uncategorized — backyardsafari @ 7:17 pm
Tags: , , , ,

Here is some local amphibian wildlife for you! My father sent me this short video of an American Toad calling at night in my parent’s backyard.

 

My parents built a small pond in their backyard a few years ago, and have had many animal visitors since! Turtles, frogs, toads, great blue herons, and a plethora of small birds all stop by to take advantage of the water source. Here is a picture of the pond during the daytime. Can you spot the Green Frog?

 

 

What if we zoom in a bit?

 

  It may seem peaceful and quiet in your backyard, but look closer! There are battles for survival going on all around us. Creatures big and small are hunting for food, competing for mates, protecting their territory, and trying keep from being something else’s dinner.  If you see something happening and want to know what type of animal it is or why it is behaving that way, try doing some research at your local library, on the internet, or e-mail me at askbackyardsafari@gmail.com, and I will try to help in any way I can! 

Keep your eyes open—there is so much to see out there!

 

2 Responses to “Backyard Wildlife”

  1. […] ‘experiment’ that I saw this weekend when I went home to visit my parents. I mentioned before that my parents recently built a pond in their backyard. They have some koi fish and my father has […]

  2. […] of amphibians many times before on this blog, which you can see here, here, here, here, here, and here. Frogs, toads, and salamanders are wonderful for people of all ages, but kids especially seem to […]


Leave a Reply

